Tomoko Hayakawa, mezzo-soprano


TOMOKO HAYAKAWA, mezzo-soprano




Tomoko Hayakawa, born in Kyoto (Japan), graduated from Tokyo’s 'University of the Arts (Geidai)' under the professors Kyoko Hirata and Tami Asakura. In 2006 she continued her education in Europe and therefore moved to the Netherlands to study at the 'Conservatory of Amsterdam' with professor Pierre Mak. After graduation she got accepted to the 'Centre National d’Artistes Lyrique (CNIPAL)' Opera Studio Marseille, France in 2010. Her desire of perfection has led her to further master classes alongside with famous singers such as Grace Bumbry, Tom Krause, Margreet Honig and Richard Wistreich.


Tomoko Hayakawa was honoured by many national and international distinctions. In 2004 she became the first prize-winner of the '2nd Czech Music Competition of Singing' in Japan and 2007 she won the highest prize at the famous '10th International Pietro Argento Competition' in Italy. At the '4th Wilhelm Stenhammar International Music Competition' in Sweden she made it to the semi-final in 2012.


She appeared as a soloist in opera as The Third Lady in 'The Magic Flute' of Mozart and The Witch in Humperdinck’s opera 'Hansel and Gretel' and performed as a soloist with several orchestras such as the Hiroshima Symphony Orchestra, Yawata Public Orchestra, Geidai Festival Orchestra, Geidai Philharmonic Orchestra and Canne Symphony Orchestra.


2017 she will be part of Nagoya's premiere of the operetta 'The White Horse Inn' conducted by Seiki Imura (script, translation and production by Natsuko Ikeyama, choreography by Kazuha Matsumura). She regularly gives solo recitals in Japan and Europe.


Please note: biographies and photos on the homepage of Seidel Music Management are for information only and may not be reproduced without permission. The most up-to-date biographies and high-resolution pictures will be distributed upon request.











Please click on the titel to listen.


"Weiche, Wotan, weiche!"

(Das Rheingold)





"Amour! Viens aider ma faiblesse"

(Samson et Dalila)


"La Vague et la Cloche"


"Per lui che adoro"

(L'italiana in Algeri)








Copyright © 2017 Seidel Music Management - Impressum